The PAIS International database contains references to more than 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
London bookseller Samuel Palmer published the first volume of his index to The Times® in 1867. Going back to October 1790, then publishing quarterly updates to December 1905, Palmer and his successors indexed articles in every issue, creating a resource that has long been recognised as an essential companion to the newspaper itself. Palmer's Index is the standard reference work for any library holding the newspaper in print or on microfilm. The online version cumulates 450 quarterly issues containing 3.7 million references on 28,000 pages.
Over 580,000 papers included in every congress, conference, exposition, workshop, symposium and meeting received at the British Library. This database is on the FirstSearch platform.
Parker Library on the Web is a multi-year undertaking of Corpus Christi College, the Stanford University Libraries and Cambridge University Library, to produce a high-resolution digital copy of every imageable page of most manuscripts in the Parker Library of Corpus Christi College (Cambridge University Press, 1912).
Pascal and Francis is an archive of the Pascal and Francis bibliographic databases in exact, human and social sciences, produced by the Inist-CNRS
since 1972 and hitherto accessible with a subscription. Three search modes are featured: simple, advanced, expert. You can also
browse the content of PASCAL and FRANCIS by keywords (vocabulary) or by
Euromonitor International offers quality international market intelligence on industries, countries and consumers. Euromonitor International has more than 30 years of experience publishing market reports, business reference books, online information systems and bespoke consulting projects.
Past Masters provides electronic editions of selected texts by philosophers and political economists, along with basic search and retrieval software. The English collection includes these databases: Locke, Berkeley, Hume; Hobbes; The Utilitarians: Bentham, Mill, Sidgwick; Economics: Smith, Ricardo, Mill; Peirce; Political Philosophy: Hobbes, Locke, Hume, Paine, Bentham, Mill, Constitution of the United States. The French collection includes these databases: The Continental Rationalists: Descartes; Political Philosophy: Rousseau. The German collection includes these databases: Wittgenstein; The Continental Rationalists: Leibniz, Spinoza. The Greek & Latin collection includes these databases: Plato; Aristotle; Spinoza; John Duns Scotus. The Italian collection contains Machiavelli. The Women Writers collection includes not only the correspondence and journals, but also the primary works of important women writers in the English language, such as Jane Austen, Charlotte Brontë, Anne Conway, Katherine Mansfield, Mary Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft, and more.
The Patrologia Latina Database contains 221 volumes and represents a complete electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865). This full-text version of the Abbe Migne's edition of Patristic and early Medieval religious texts provides a thorough overview of the making of Western religious thought from the late Classical period to the early 13th century.
This database includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains 115,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
The database was developed to give rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Most trials on the database have been rated for quality to help you quickly discriminate between trials which are likely to be valid and interpretable and those which are not.
Published in Philadelphia from 1728 through 1800, The Pennsylvania Gazette is considered The New York Times of the 18th century. It provides the reader with a first hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods.
People’s Daily, or Ren min ri bao, is the flagship newspaper that serves as the voice of the government of the People’s Republic of China. The database provides full text access to the newspaper from its beginning issue in 1946 to the present, with functions of browsing by date, full text searching, full text of articles, and full-image reproductions of the original newspapers. Use of Internet Explorer is recommended.
This resource is produced in association with the Perdita Project based at the University of Warwick and Nottingham Trent University. “Perdita” means “lost woman” and the quest of the Perdita Project has been to find early modern women authors who were “lost” because their writing exists only in manuscript form. The manuscripts in this site were written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries and they have been sourced from archives and libraries across the United Kingdom and the USA.
The Performing Arts Database, formerly the International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA), is a comprehensive guide to the journal literature on performing arts--drama, theater, dance, film, television, and more--searchable together for the first time in one electronic database.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) is an archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas.
Periodicals Contents Index (PCI) is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 4,250 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.
PERSEUS is a multimedia resource that provides an overview of the ancient Greek world. The database concentrates on five areas: a. Historical Overview -- historical essays on Ancient Greece organized by political and cultural eras b. Tools and References -- Greek encyclopedia and dictionary, bibliography for Greek texts and references, and word and subject search functions c. Art and archaeology -- descriptions and photographs of archeological sites, sculpture, coins and other art d. Atlas -- general and regional maps of Greece e. Primary texts -- complete works written by classic authors (i.e. Homer, Sophocles, Plutarch, etc.)Part of the ARTFL Project.
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does not take positions on policy issues.
This exam is designed to emulate the look and feel of the actual NAPLEX, as is
based on the updated blueprint that will go into effect on Nov. 1, 2015. In
accordance with NABP guidelines, the majority of questions are asked in a
scenario-based format (i.e., patient profiles with accompanying test questions). To
properly analyze and answer the questions presented, the candidate must refer to
the information provided in the patient profile. Users must create an account to
access the question banks.
Phase Equilibria Diagrams contains more than 23,000 critically evaluated phase diagrams for oxides, salts, carbides, nitrides, borides, compound semiconductors and chalcogenides. Published online in collaboration with the American Ceramic Society and NIST in full text and diagram display.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
The Philosopher’s Index, an important and oft-requested philosophy resource, is now available via EBSCOhost®, one of the most popular platforms available for scholarly research.
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Using advanced trawling techniques and large scale crowdsourcing, we monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. We also host the largest open access archive in philosophy. PhilPapers has over 70,000 registered users.
This question bank is designed to assess the candidate's knowledge of basic
and surgical knowledge in preparation for the PA Certification or Recertification
Exam. Users must create an account to use the question
Picture Post’s innovative use of photo-journalism captured the imagination of the British people, with readership at its peak estimated at 80% of the population. In the era before television, it became the window on the world for ordinary people, bringing the major social and political issues of the day into popular consciousness.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Pivot is a web-based discovery and workflow tool that combines a comprehensive source of global funding opportunities with the largest collection of scholar profiles into one intuitive solution. With Pivot, researchers, faculty and research administrators can explore new avenues for funding, view funding opportunities uniquely matched to their scholar profile, collaborate with colleagues and manage the results of the process to build a funding strategy that supports both immediate and long-term funding needs.
PolicyFile is updated weekly with additions of approximately 250 records per week. Currently, users may access over 91,000 records from 1995 to current, most of these with links to the full-text documents. This resource for difficult-to-find gray literature covers all foreign and domestic policy papers produced by an impressive and growing number of nongovernmental agencies, research institutes, and think tanks in the U.S. The 387 organizations included in PolicyFile are reviewed daily to gather the most recently published papers, reports, and documents for inclusion. All records have subject indexing and abstracts, and the vast majority of PolicyFile records include links to the full-text documents.
An easy-to-use web-based Geographic Information System (GIS), use Policy Map to create maps of the United States down to the Census block group in many cases. Available data includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores and labor data like unemployment, crime statistics and city crime rates.
A compilation of rare and unique archival collections covering a wide range of fringe political movements. This archive is one of the first digital archives covering such a broad assortment of both far-right and left political groups. It offers a diverse mixture of materials, including periodicals, campaign propaganda, government records, oral histories, and various ephemera. The collections cover a period of just over a century (1900s to 2010s) when the world saw the formation of several civil rights movements for the rights of minorities, women's rights, and gay rights. It also encompasses the rise and fall of a number of peripheral groups deemed ‘extreme’ or ‘radical’ by contemporaries, such as anti-Catholic, anti-Semitic, anti-war, communist or socialist, creationist, environmentalist, hate, holocaust denial, new left, survivalist, white supremacist, and white nationalist. It is global in scope, however, the majority of the materials are largely from the US and Britain.
Comprehensive country profiles chronicling national history, government, and political parties, as well as profiles on intergovernmental organizations, development banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations.
The source for government information for high-school students in a customized, easy-to-use web site.
This collection of influential legal periodicals is a sub-set of the Law Journal Library found through Hein Online.
A compilation of questions and responses from more than 12,000 national, state, local and special surveys, conducted by 700 polling organizations in the United States and 70 other countries from 1986 through the present. Each record in the database consists of one poll question and the participants answers. Only 4 simultaneous users can access Polling the Nations.
The latest edition of Polymers: A Property Database is an improved version of an indispensable polymer reference work. The database is a comprehensive and in-depth collection of properties for a very wide range of polymers, both synthetic and natural and where polymers exist with subtle variations in structure, these are also covered in some detail. Processing grades are also described along with typical applications for each major polymer.
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature is the first and only systematic article level index to the subject matter of 19th century periodicals. Originally published in six volumes between 1882 and 1908, the Index began in 1848 as the project of Yale student, William Frederick Poole. Poole observed that libraries hold collections of periodicals which receive little use because their content is not known. Through the application of subject indexing, Poole was able to dramatically increase access to periodical literature, greatly facilitating the research process. In 1876, Poole was approached by the American Library Association, and persuaded to produce a new edition of his index, with the assistance William Fletcher, Librarian of Amherst College, and the library community in North America and the UK. When the final volume was released in 1908, the Index had covered 482,000 articles and 378,000 subjects in 12,241 volumes of 479 British and American periodicals for the years 1802-1906.
POPLINE is the world's largest database of documents about family planning and related health and development issues. It is part of The Information and Knowledge for Optimal Health Project (the INFO Project), based at the JHU Bloomberg School of Public Health's Center for Communication Programs, and receives support from the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID). The INFO Project expands on the work of its predecessor, the Population Information Program (PIP). Documents cannot be obtained through the website – to make a request, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org, and include the document number.
Popular Culture explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. The resource offers thousands of colour images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia from this exciting period in our recent history.
This unique collection showcases the development of 'popular' medicine in America during the nineteenth century, through an extensive range of material that was aimed at the general public rather than medical professionals. Explore an array of printed sources, including rare books, pamphlets, trade cards, and visually-rich advertising ephemera.
Population Index is an annotated bibliography of books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics. The database is searchable and browsable and it contains 46,035 abstracts of demographic literature, published in Population Index in the period 1986-2000. This site is maintained by the Office of Population Research at Princeton University.
This online archive delivers essential primary sources for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European peoples in the aftermath of World War II. It covers the politics and administration of the refugee crisis in Europe after World War II as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves.
Pravda has been a newspaper of record since the dawn of the Soviet era, and remains a prominent news source in today’s Russia.
Pravda has been a newspaper of record since the dawn of the Soviet era, and remains a prominent news source in today’s Russia. With access to over 90 years of valuable primary source material, researchers now have the means to search through the chief chronicle of Russian and Soviet history, from the beginnings of the Russian Revolution through World War II, the Cold War, the fall of the Soviet Union, and everything in between.
PressReader delivers an endless stream of top news stories to read, discuss and share. Get full issues of thousands of top magazines and newspapers, just as they appear in print.
Primary Search contains full text for more than 50 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets. Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals, and features the Funk + Wagnall's New Encyclopedia, which provides students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. This database also provides the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and an Image Collection of 91,000 photos, maps and flags.
PrivCo is a key source for financial, operational, and competitive information on over 120,000 major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. The database also includes details on thousands of financing arrangements of all sorts: venture capital, private equity, mergers and acquisitions, etc. JHU PrivCo users must first create a free personal account with their JHU email address to use the database, then log in through it on subsequent visits.
A database of over 19000 citations to every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at the British Library. This database is on the FirstSearch platform.
The Profiles in Science® web site at the National Library of Medicine (NLM) is a group of the archival collections of leaders in biomedical research and public health (e.g., Barbara McClintock). The site was begun in September 1998, and many of the collections were donated to NLM and contain books, journal volumes, pamphlets, diaries, letters, manuscripts, photographs, audiotapes, video clips, and other materials.
Project Euclid's mission is to advance scholarly communication in the field of theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics. Project Euclid is designed to address the unique needs of low-cost independent and society journals. Through a collaborative partnership arrangement, these publishers join forces and participate in an online presence with advanced functionality, without sacrificing their intellectual or economic independence or commitment to low subscription prices.
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers, as well as the UPCC Book Collections.
Properties of Organic Compounds is a database that contains over 29,000 of the most commonly sought organic compounds, featuring physical data, spectral data, and structures. With a high quality display and powerful search capabilities, it acts as an easy-to-use tool for identifying unknown compounds or for locating additional data and references for a known compound.
Provides access to the periodical and newspaper indexes available through the ProQuest company platform, all of which include abstracts and some full text. Search a single database by clicking on its name. Databases with checkboxes can be cross-searched.
ProQuest Central is the largest multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
Combines continuous runs of regional newspapers, as well as pamphlets covering a wide range of topics. It's a deep set of primary sources, with documents that encompass the buildup to and evolution of the war that shaped the Nation's identity, all in original article and page image. ProQuest Civil War Era focuses on the entire era, from Manifest Destiny through the end of the Civil War--enabling researchers to investigate not just the battles, but also the rising tensions that led the country to war.
This database is a premium resource for those who need access to comprehensive coverage of computer topics. The database includes numerous titles, most of them in full text, allowing users to search records dating back to the early 1990's.
An index of U.S. congressional publications, with abstracts and links to full-text documents and related sites. This database includes the following collections: Executive Branch Documents, 1789-1948; Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations, 1789-2014; Legislative Histories 1960 - Present; Bills & Laws 1789 - Present; Committee Prints & Misc. Publications 1817 - Present; Congressional Record Bound Edition & Predecessors 1789 - 1999; Congressional Record Daily Edition 1985 - Present; Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS) 1916 - Present; Hearings 1824 - Present; House & Senate Documents 1817 - Present; House & Senate Reports 1817 - Present; Serial Set 1789 - Present; and Serial Set Maps 1789 - Present.
Proquest Ebook Central (formerly EBL) is one of the leading specialist ebookstores on the web, selling a wide range of titles ranging from popular fiction to technical and academic ebooks.
Deep backfile for The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, The Christian Science Monitor, The Chicago Tribune and Los Angeles Times.
This database provides insight into Chinese political and social life from 1832 to 1953, with full text access to 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers. Key titles include: North China Herald, Canton Times, The China Press, Peking Daily News, Peking Gazette, Shanghai Times, and more.
International Newsstream provides fulltext access to the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites. Coverage includes The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
Fulltext access to the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Includes coverage of major U.S. newspapers such as The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Christian Science Monitor.
Search genes, proteins, pathways, miRNAs, diseases, and drugs in the Proteome database. Provided by geneXplain.
The Provençal database contains 38 Provençal texts dating from 1130 to 1300 in their original spellings. The form includes searching instructions and description of search outputs. Bibliography of the Provençal database
Part of the ARTFL Project.
Largest database of financial performance of Indian companies. The database covers the profit and loss statement, balance sheet and ratios based on these. In the case of listed companies, it includes cash flow statement, quarterly financial statements, share prices, corporate action and daily total returns. Financial statements based on consolidated and standalone basis are available. Financial statements are standardised. All users must first register and create their own account, and must use a Johns Hopkins issued email address.
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 140,000 articles from over 60 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. PsycARTICLES is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
PsycCRITIQUES – full-text database of book and film reviews. Active publication ended in Fall 2017.
PsycEXTRA, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), is a bibliographic and full-text companion to the scholarly PsycINFO database. The document types included in PsycEXTRA consist of technical, annual and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, consumer brochures and more.
PsychiatryOnline is a web-based portal that features DSM-5 and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing.
PEP is a fully searchable digital archive of classic psychoanalytic texts. Books and journals are included. Freud's collected works are included: Gesammelte Werke by Freud as well as the Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud by Strachey.
ProQuest Psychology Database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 700 titles, with over 575 titles available in full text. Users get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research.
This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages.
PsycTESTS®, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching. International in scope, PsycTESTS® also provides access to an increasing number of tests that are available in languages other than English. PsycTESTS® is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. While focused on contemporary instances of test use, coverage spans more than a century.
PTSDpubs, formerly known as PILOTS, is a freely available, bibliographic database providing access to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of traumatic events.
PubAg is a search engine provided by the National Agricultural Library. It provided access to research published by U.S. Department of Agriculture scientists. Currently PubAg includes more than 40,000 scientific journal articles by USDA researchers, mostly from 1997 to 2014. New articles by USDA researchers will be added almost daily, and older articles may be added if possible.
PubChem, released in 2004, provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative.
Public Agenda, a nonpartisan, non profit research organization devoted to public opinion, policy analysis, and citizen education, has recently relaunched its Website. Public Agenda Online provides issue guides that cover topics such as crime, education, environment, immigration, social security, and welfare. Each issue guide contains an overview of the issue, a news digest of recent stories, background data, various perspectives on the issue, resources for more information, and analyses of related public opinion drawn from major public opinion polls.
Documents the rise of the twentieth-century public health system in the United States through correspondence, reports, pamphlets, ephemera, and more. For scholars in the fields of American history, American studies, history of science and medicine, public health studies, sociology, political science, psychology, and economics, it documents through primary sources that record the evolution and impact of public health legislation, policies, and campaigns at the local, national, and federal levels, opening for researchers a new window on the roles played by key organizations.
Contains every page of Publishers Weekly published for nearly 150 years, all in its original context, in full color, and fully searchable to support lines of inquiry into print media and digital culture, American studies, popular culture, history of the book, literature, history, humanities, and their many sub-disciplines.
PubMed lists journal articles and more back to 1947. It indexes about 5,400 journals and covers the areas of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, preclinical sciences, and related areas. PubMed also links to online books and to most of the other NCBI databases. PubMed is a free database developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), both at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) in Bethesda, MD.
The updated version of PubMed is available for testing. National Library of Medicine encourages users to try the new site for the newest features, the improved mobile experience and provide feedback.
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). In keeping with NLM’s legislative mandate to collect and preserve the biomedical literature, PMC serves as a digital counterpart to NLM’s extensive print journal collection. Launched in February 2000, PMC was developed and is managed by NLM’s National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
From 1841 to 1992 Punch was the world's most celebrated magazine of humour and satire - imitated, parodied and pirated from America to India and Japan. The Punch Historical Archive will allow users to navigate and search all issues, seasonal numbers and almanacks of this iconic publication, providing a unique insight into the politics, culture and society of the 19th and 20th centuries.