For best results, click this link for accessible version

Databases A-Z

| 1 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z |
OAIster is a union catalog of digital resources.It provides access to these digital resources by "harvesting" their descriptive metadata (records) using OAI-PMH (the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting). The Open Archives Initiative is not the same thing as the Open Access movement. These resources, often hidden from search engine users behind web scripts, are known as the "deep web." The owners of these resources share them with the world using OAI-PMH. OAIster reveals these digital resources in an easy-to-use, searchable interface. In addition, it aims to: * Provide one-stop "shopping" for users interested in useful, academically-oriented digital resources.It gathers all potential digital resources out there in an effort to build a comprehensive digital union catalog. * Eliminate dead ends. Users retrieve not only descriptions (metadata) about resources, they have access to the real digital resources. For instance, instead of just the catalog records of a slide collection of Van Gogh's works, users are able to view images of the actual works. This database is on the FirstSearch platform.
OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998 - currently.
OECD Stat enables users to search for and extract data from across OECD’s many databases included in SourceOECD Statistics. It gives access to around 300 datasets.
Quick and easy access to professional information about more than 800,000 board certified physicians in 50+ specialties and 100+ subspecialties from the 24 member boards of the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS).
The Official Index to the Times provides indexing for the Times of London for 1906-1980. Can be used together with Palmer's Index to the Times (of London), 1790-1905. See also Times Digital Archive.
Old Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association. The database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies.
Oldenbourg-link and akademie-link is an integrated full-text database for journals and e-books published by Oldenbourg Wissenschaftsverlag and Akademie Verlag.
This is the online version of Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease, which covers the “genes and genetic mechanisms underlying human disease states.” Information about the underlying basis of genetic diseases includes chapters about amino acids, carbohydrates, lipids, porphyrins, metals, disorders of mitochondrial function, vitamins, hormones, membrane transport disorders, various organs and systems, neurogenetics, inborn errors of development, and the genetics of complex disease.
OmniFile Full Text Mega is a multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Standard Catalogs, Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text. Full-text articles from five additional periodical databases are also included when available: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.
This international index of books and articles in Egyptology went online in 1992. It is cumulated on CD-ROM: See Eisenhower AV Center - Reference COMP FILE 3267. The print version is found at: Eisenhower Near Eastern Reference Collection, D Level Eisenberg Rm, Non-Circ Call No.: Z 3656.A2A6
A searchable online database of all bibliographic entries found in Current geographical publications, from 1985-present.
A charitable organisation dedicated to publishing open access scholarship with no author-facing article processing charges (APCs). We are funded by an international consortium of libraries who have joined us in our mission to make scholarly publishing fairer, more accessible, and rigorously preserved for the digital future.
Open Vault provides online access to unique and historically important video content produced by public television station WGBH. The ever-expanding site contains video excerpts, searchable transcripts, a select number of complete interviews for purchase, and resource management tools. Topics covered in the videos include the arts, business, education, humanities, massachusetts, science and technology, and social sciences.
Searching, with full-text access to hundred's of open access journals in French, covering the humanities and social sciences.
The verse and prose works include early masters of Italian literature like Dante, Petrarch, and Boccaccio, as well as lesser-known and obscure texts by poets, merchants, and medieval chroniclers.
OpinionArchives provides an electronic archives and some fulltext of 17 leading journals of opinion, politics, arts, history and culture. These primary source materials are invaluable for political science, literature, and other humanities and social sciences studies. Indexing reaches back to the first issues of the indexed publications.
The Optics InfoBase is a web-based repository of optics research with added services to meet the individual subscriber's needs.
Oral History Online provides in-depth indexing to more than 2,700 collections of Oral History in English from around the world. The collection provides keyword searching of almost 281,000 pages of full-text by close to 10,000 individuals from all walks of life.
Orchestral Music Online is the most recent iteration of David Daniels's classic repertoire reference work used by conductors, orchestras, musicians, and musicologists throughout the world. This new online version, based on the critically acclaimed fourth edition of the printed reference work Orchestral Music: A Handbook (2005, Scarecrow Press), provides greater and easier access to more information on composers and works.
Online library of Judaic books, containing over 41,500 books (seforim). The database includes scanned books and manuscript encompassing all realms of Judaism, from ancient times to the modern period: basic works in all Torah and Judaic fields, from Chazal to modern day sources, commentaries to the Bible, Mishnah and Talmud, works in Jewish philosophy and mussar; in addition to books on Jewish history and Jewish communities, Hebrew language and grammar, encyclopedia's etc.
Ovid MEDLINE ® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,400 journals published world-wide.
Alphabetical list of databases to which JHU subscribed through the OvidSP platform.
The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 7,500 articles by top scholars in the field. Over 1,000 images, primary sources with specially written commentaries, and over 100 maps have been collected to enhance this reference content. And over 100 charts and tables offer information on everything from demographics to government and politics to business and labor to education and the arts.Core content: Africana; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; Black women in America, Second Edition; African American National Biography; Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature.
Oxford Art Online is an innovative gateway that offers users the ability to access and search the vast content of Grove Art Online and Oxford art reference in one location. With the 2008 complete redesign of Grove Art Online, as well as the addition of substantial new Oxford reference content, Oxford Art Online offers the most extensive and easily searchable online art resource available today, a virtual art reference library of unparalleled scope and depth.
Grove Art Online provides Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art with quarterly additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links and all the sophisticated search advantages possible with an online reference source.
he Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms provides 1,800 entries on art terms, critical periods, and styles in the visual arts. The quick reference format includes materials, techniques, and foreign terms essential for navigating the current visual climate. Featuring clear definitions of movements and media, from Baroque to Minimalism, aquatint to raku, and canvas to Venetian glass, this publication provides succinct and accessible explanations of art terms.
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Subscription includes subject bibliographies on: African Studies, Chinese Studies, Cinema & Media Studies, Classics, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American Studies, Linguistics, American Literature, Atlantic History, British & Irish Literature, Medieval Studies, Military History, Philosophy, and Renaissance & Reformation.
Oxford University Press has asked leading scholars to identify the most significant themes and areas of study in their fields, recommend the best sources for exploring them, and discuss these works conceptual and empirical significance to provide a series of guided studies through the diverse approaches to a wide array of complex subjects. Explores African perspectives on art, culture, economics, geography and the environment, ancient and modern history, literature, music, politics, religion, science and thought, and society.
Developed cooperatively with scholars worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies in Chinese Studies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across the field of Chinese Studies.
Oxford Bibliographies in Cinema and Media Studies has recruited many of the finest scholars in cinema and media studies to chart a path through the information thicket and toward a carefully organized, thoroughly peer-reviewed account of the most important books, articles, and Web sites.
Classical Studies comprises a vast body of scholarship: primary and secondary sources, commentaries, multiple important editions, and critique. OBO: Classics provides a reliable source of general information and lengthy bibliography on a wide array of topics concerning the ancient world.
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides on Islamic Studies.
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides on Jewish Studies.
Latin American studies includes a vast range of disciplinary perspectives, including history, sociology, economics, anthropology, and political science. Area studies in general have proliferated in the latter half of the twentieth century and Latin American studies in particular has been propelled forward as a distinct field of study by major international changes.
Oxford Bibliographies in Linguistics provides expert commentary to help students and scholars find, negotiate, and assess the large amount of information readily available to them. It facilitates research by providing direct links to online library catalogs and other online resources. Organizing the resource around discrete subject entries will allow for quick and easy navigation that users expect when working on screen.
The field of American Literature is one of the most active fields in academia today and is characterized by the many cultures, religions, and ethnicities that have contributed to the larger American literary tradition over the past 500 years. The study of literature invites trans-disciplinary collaboration with fields as varied as history, cultural studies, politics, and women’s studies making it challenging for students and scholars to stay informed about related areas of study.
Atlantic history is a fast developing field of historical inquiry that operates upon new assumptions about how to understand the remarkable nature of interactions between different peoples and cultures on four continents and many islands in the period between Columbus’ voyages to the New World in the late fifteenth century and the end of slavery in the Americas in the late nineteenth century. Its principal theme is the movement of peoples, ideas and things in the Atlantic World.
As a key part of Western literary and cultural history, British and Irish literature encompasses a massive range of periods, authors, and works that make it one of the most active fields in academia today. As such, this area of study invites trans-disciplinary collaboration with fields as varied as history, cultural studies, political science, and philosophy making it challenging for students and scholars to stay informed about every applicable area.
The field of Medieval Studies explores European and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries. This period, which has a critical importance for the understanding of Western culture, can best be approached through a combination of several disciplines, from history to literature, from art to archaeology, from religion to gender studies.
The study of military history has evolved into a multidisciplinary effort to go beyond the history of military operations to consider broader political, cultural, and social questions. It spans across several disciplines and genres, including sociology and political science, biography, war and battle narratives, the history of technology, foreign affairs and international relations, and various national histories.
Philosophy is one of the oldest areas of study with a long history of critical literature, and it remains a highly active field for new research and publishing. The number of books and articles published seems to increase every year.
The period of the Renaissance and Reformation, which spans roughly from the 14th through 17th centuries, is rich in history and culture. The field of Renaissance and Reformation studies, which has a critical importance for the understanding of Western culture, can best be approached through a combination of several disciplines including history, the arts, and literature. As such, it is constantly responding to the emergence of new interpretations and ideas for scholars to consider.
The Oxford Classical Dictionary is a central reference work for basic information about the ancient Greco-Roman world. Covering subjects as diverse as literature, art, philosophy, law, mythology, science, daily life, and broader cultural and historical trends, the Oxford Classical Dictionary is the first place to turn for clear, authoritative information on all aspects of ancient culture.
As well as providing factual information, the Dictionary contains many thematic entries on subjects relevant to the 21st century, this established reference work has been thoroughly updated. It is an essential reference for both scholars and non-specialists with an interest in the classical era.
56,521 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2004.
Traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
Economics, as a field of study, is diverse in the topics it encompasses and the methods or techniques it uses. It explores decisions and choices under constraints of individuals, groups, firms, governments, or societies. Economics is theoretical and empirical, whether statistical, experimental, or historical. Economics examines and explains trends and patterns of individual and aggregate human behavior and their implications. Articles published online are arranged for easier discovery of content.
The potential range of Oxford Handbooks in History is endless: history is concerned with everything that human beings have done. Thus volumes already published range chronologically from medieval times to the Cold War; regionally from the Americas to China; topically through race, religions, and gender to food; methodologically from oral history to environmental. Newly commissioned essays will appear online as soon as they are ready, often in advance of the volumes of which they will form part. Existing essays will be regularly updated.
The academic study of political phenomena centers on political science (efforts empirically to document how politics occurs and to develop theories about its regular patterns), political theory (the study of ideas and the history of those ideas in political discourse) and international relations (the study of all aspects of global society including organizations and relations between states). Articles published online are arranged for easier discovery of content.
Encompassing over 5,000 A-Z reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines, Oxford Islamic Studies Online offers a multi-layered reference experience designed to provide a first stop for anyone needing information and context on Islam.
Search journals published by Oxford University Press.
Oxford Music Online is a gateway that offers users the ability, for the first time ever, to access and cross-search the vast resources of Oxford's music reference in one location. The cornerstone of Oxford Music Online, Grove Music Online, has been completely redesigned with a number of functional enhancements and new content.
Grove Music Online offers a dynamic research tool combining the full text of the 29-volume print edition with the added benefit of sophisticated search capabilities, one-click cross-referencing, and an ever increasing network of web-links to musical sites around the world.
Oxford Reference Online consists of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
A list of bilingual dictionaries available through Oxford Reference Online.
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online (OSEO) includes more than 750 scholarly editions of material written between 1485 and 1837, plus Classical Latin poetry, history, and drama, including all of Shakespeare’s plays, the complete works of Jane Austen, Ovid, and Virgil, the poetry of John Donne, and works by Adam Smith and Jeremy Bentham. OSEO provides full-text access to hundreds of editions, showcasing their authoritative editorial notes directly alongside the text and enabling advanced search within and between editions.
Oxford Scholarship Online is a vast and rapidly expanding cross-searchable library which offers quick and easy access to the full text of over 2,000 Oxford books. In addition to Economics and Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion, Oxford Scholarship Online now access to new Oxford books in Biology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, History, Linguistics, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Physics, and Psychology. Specially-commissioned abstracts and keywords are available at book and chapter level (free to non-subscribed users), and up to 400 new and recently-published books are added each year.
The Oxford University Press Business and Management list brings the best academic work on business and management, broadly defined, to an international audience of scholars, researchers and advanced students. Drawing on the foundation disciplines of business and management, the list includes work by economists, sociologists, psychologists, political scientists and historians, as well as business academics, published.
The Oxford Scholarship Online collection provides, for the first time, direct and easy access to many of Oxford's distinguished key and new titles in the discipline, including essential scholarly works by leading classical scholars on Greek and Latin literature and culture, and Ancient History. Series include Oxford Classical Monographs, Oxford Studies in Ancient Documents, Classical Presences, Classical Culture and Society, and American Philological Association Monograph Series.
Oxford University Press has an extensive list of publications in Economics and Finance. Our authors range from classic thinkers to modern masters, including twentieth-century Nobel Prize winners, and come from across the globe. Our Clarendon series contains work by many of those those whose thinking is currently driving the subject forward.
Reflects the unparalleled breadth and depth of the Oxford list, encompassing work at the cusp of late antiquity and the early middle ages right through to the latter decades of the twentieth century, and ranging from the most focused regional histories to the broadest transnational studies.
Oxford Scholarship Online:Linguistics provides the full text of OUP psychology books from 2011, forward. Books are available in HTML and PDF formats. Limit to full text to see the books JHU has purchased full text.
The Oxford University Press Literature list has enormous range, from Medieval to Twentieth Century and all-but Contemporary, with a powerful grouping in the Renaissance/Early Modern. The titles largely address the literary from the perspective of history, and in that contextual sense they are significantly interdisciplinary.
Oxford Scholarship Online:Neuroscience provides the full text of OUP psychology books from 2011, forward. Books are available in HTML and PDF formats. Limit to full text to see the books JHU has purchased full text.
Oxford University Press is the world's leading philosophy publisher, publishing outstanding original work across all areas of contemporary philosophy and the history of philosophy. Our list of famous philosophy books stretches back through the twentieth century and beyond and includes work by eminent philosophers and leading scholars.
Oxford University Press is one of the world's leading publishers in political science. We publish outstanding original work across many of the key areas of the discipline, from Comparative Politics to Political Theory, International Relations to European Union Studies.
Oxford Scholarship Online: Psychology provides the full text of OUP psychology books from 2008, forward. Books are available in HTML and PDF formats. Limit to full text to see the books JHU has purchased full text.
OSO Public Health and Epidemiology contains select titles which critically discuss the development and assessment of public health issues that affect a diverse range of populations worldwide.
Oxford University Press publishes original scholarship in all areas of religion and theology. The books included in Oxford Scholarship Online represent the diversity of the list, and the subjects covered are of interest to both scholars and students alike. In addition to major recent titles, the list also includes classic works of enduring influence.
Selective access to recent works in the award-winning social work list at Oxford which reflects the wide range of the field and the depth of its growing body of research. Strengths in broad areas of the discipline, such as child welfare and mental health, are supported by a particular focus on research methods and evidence-based practice.
| 1 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z |

Powered by the open source Xerxes project.