For best results, click this link for accessible version

Databases A-Z

| 1 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z |
A collection of some of the most influential poets of the twentieth century. The Faber list spans the seventy-year history of this major publishing house, and includes the poetry of Thom Gunn, Siegfried Sassoon, T.S. Eliot, Ted Hughes, Sylvia Plath, Wendy Cope and Seamus Heaney. In total The Faber Poetry Library contains 140 volumes by 50 poets.
The core service of Faculty of 1000 (F1000) identifies and evaluates the most important articles in biology and medical research publications. The selection process comprises a peer-nominated global 'Faculty' of the world's leading scientists and clinicians who rate the best of the articles they read and explain their importance.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide™ (FSSW) is a core resource providing the most comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. FSSW covers popular issues and meets the requirements of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice. Coverage spans from 1970 to the present, indexing publications from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work.
This database includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.
The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS), through its Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center (FJSRC), compiles comprehensive information describing suspects and defendants processed in the Federal criminal justice system. The goal of FJSRC is to provide uniform case processing statistics across all stages of the Federal criminal justice system. Using data obtained from Federal agencies, FJSRC compiles comprehensive information that describes person-cases processed through the system.
The Federal Register Library contains the Federal Register from its inception in 1936, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Administrative Procedure Act, Code of Emergency Federal Regulations, the U.S. Government Manual and the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents. The Federal Register is the main source for the United States federal government agencies' proposed new rules, final rules, changes to existing rules and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
FRED is a database of 20,070 U.S. economic time series data. With FRED you can download data in Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series. Data series are organized into categories such as baking, business/fiscal, exchange rates, foreign exchange intervention, GDP, and interest rates. You can also access “vintage” data through ALFRED – the ArchivaL Federal Reserve Data.
FedLaw was developed to see if legal resources on the Internet could be a useful and cost-effective research tool for Federal lawyers and other Federal employees. Fedlaw has assembled references of use to people doing Federal legal research.
FedStats, which has been available to the public since 1997, provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. With convenient searching and linking capablilties to more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more, FedStats is your one location for access to the full breadth of Federal statistical information.
An index to recent articles and book reviews concerned with women and gender in the Middle Ages. Permits subject searches; thesaurus provided. Includes links to JSTOR and Project Muse.
A comprehensive index covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing and produced for a broad target audience, from film scholars to general viewers. Subject coverage includes: film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Film Index International is a major information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. With a scholarly, inclusive approach to all areas of film studies - from the very first silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters - Film Index International provides truly international coverage, indexing films from over 170 countries
In 1973, the Film and Television Documentation Center at the State University of New York (SUNY) published the Film Literature Index, the first periodical index devoted to the literature of film designed for the scholar, the student, and the general reader. The index has since expanded coverage to include television and video productions. The Film Literature Index annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly and critical to the popular. The FLI Online contains citations from 1976 to 2001.
Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform. The platform allows you to view an entire film, or just a segment. Playlists can also be created. JHU has access to the Business and Economics collection and a small collection of documentaries.
Use the ProQuest Newsstand database’s more refined searching capabilities to identify and retrieve articles, in HTML format only, from the Financial Times newspaper since 1996. There is a one-month delay on access to the latest content through Financial Times’ agreement with ProQuest.
This subscription to the Financial Times (FT.com) website provides current Hopkins affiliates with personal accounts for customized access from computers, tablets and mobile devices to: 1) online articles from 2004 to the Present; 2) digitized editions of the Financial Times newspaper from 2005 to the Present (depending on the edition); and 3) additional content and tools for customization. Limited to current Hopkins affiliates who must initially register for, and periodically renew, their personal Financial Times accounts through this designated link, using their JHU e-mail addresses.
Gale Cengage provides this most extensive, growing archive of the Financial Times, a key international business newspaper. Search for digitized articles or data or browse through facsimiles of complete editions from 1888-2010. Coverage also includes the Special Supplements and FT Magazine.
This free online dictionary is provided through arrangement with Merriam-Webster and is based on their 1996 edition of Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Law.
The First World War (WWI) portal showcases a wealth of primary source material for the study of the Great War, complemented by a range of contextual secondary features. Includes collections: Personal Experiences, Propaganda and Recruitment, and Visual Perspectives and Narratives.
The Foreign and International Law Resources Database (FILRD) allows researchers to browse online through the treasures of some of the world's best international law publications. HeinOnline is offering in-depth coverage of publications from the American Society of International Law and the prominent Yearbooks from around the world, as well as the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series and the publications of dozens of other highly-respected publishers. Part 1 will include International Yearbooks and Serials, Part 2 contains U.S. Law Digests, Part 3 consists of International Tribunals and Judicial Decisions and Part 4 includes other significant works relating to foreign and international law.
The United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence. The Daily Reports contain English translations of news gathered from foreign radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements. For post-1995 coverage, see World News Connection. Includes 4 subset collections which can be searched here or through a separate database. Those subsets are: Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1940-1996; The Cold War: Global Perspectives on East-West Tensions, 1945-1991; American Race Relations: Global Perspectives, 1940-1996; & Apartheid: Global Perspectives, 1946-1996.
An index to the FBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government covering political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events throughout the world. Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world are the sources of this information
This collection make available all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980. The revolution which overthrew the millennia-old imperial system heralded a period of turmoil in China which would last for the best part of forty years. Encapsulated by the rivalry between the Nationalist Chiang Kai-shek and the Communist Mao Zedong, the turmoil of warlordism, competing governments, civil wars and Japanese invasion ended only when the Communist Party emerged as masters of a reunified China in 1949. Throughout most of this period the major European powers, the United States and Japan maintained considerable political and economic interests in China, most notably in the foreign concessions in Shanghai and other ‘treaty ports’. The years following the communist revolution were to see upheavals of a similar magnitude, as the civil war was followed by the economic chaos and mass starvation of the Great Leap Forward, and then Mao’s efforts to return to prominence through the socio-political alterations of the Great Proletarian Cultural Revolution.
This collection of files from the Foreign Office (later the Foreign and Commonwealth Office) and Dominions Office focuses on the political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan. Events covered include independence and partition, the Indian annexation of Hyderabad and Goa, war between India and Pakistan, tensions and war between India and China, the consolidation of power of the Congress Party in India, military rule in Pakistan, the turbulent independence of Bangladesh and the development of nuclear weapons in the region.
An invaluable tool for understanding the modern Middle East. Sources are from the National Archives, UK. Document coverage is currently for 1971-1974, Arab-Israeli War and the Oil Crisis.
Foreign Policy, the magazine of global politics, economics and ideas, features significant articles on political science and international relations. Full digital content now available.
The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series, produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian, comprises more than 350 volumes of resourceful historical information. The series began in 1861 during Abraham Lincoln's administration and continues through the administration of Richard Nixon in 1975.
The leading forum for serious discussion of American foreign policy and global affairs since 1922. Published by the Council on Foreign Relations (CFR), a non-profit and nonpartisan membership organization dedicated to improving the understanding of U.S. foreign policy and international affairs through the free exchange of ideas.
Foundation Directory Online is a database of the entire universe of U.S. foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities, plus a growing number of non-U.S. grantmakers; a database of sponsoring companies, offering a quick pathway to corporate funders; a database of recently awarded grants; and a keyword-searchable database of recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.
The ARTFL implementation of the FRANTEXT database (formerly the Trésor de la Langue Française) consists of over 2600 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Genres include novels, poetry, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy.
The ARTFL French Women Writers Project is a searchable database containing works by French women authors from the 16th to the 19th century. It currently contains texts by 40 authors. There are 5.1 million words, 98,000 unique forms in 99 documents.
The documents in Frontier Life reveal the existence of Anglophone settlers on the edges of their world from circa 1650-1920. It covers the following regions: American East, American Midwest, American Southwest & California, Canada, North- and West- African expeditions, Southern Africa, Australia and New Zealand.
Features over 25,000 informative segments of the encyclopedia.
| 1 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z |

Powered by the open source Xerxes project.